Library Locations Search site

Minnesota Book Award Winners and Finalists Take Center Stage at Local Libraries

  • Legacy
Joyce Sutphen (Naming the Stars)

6:30 PM

May 17, 2012

South Saint Paul Public Library

Newly-named Minnesota Poet Laureate Joyce Sutphen will stop by South Saint Paul Public Library to read excerpts from her third book of poems, Minnesota Book Award-winning Naming the Stars.


Click Here for More Information.


Nancy Loewen (The Last Day of Kindergarten): Family Storytime

2:00 PM

April 7, 2012

Savage Public Library

Today is the last day of kindergarten, and a little girl wishes it were the first day again – when everything was exciting and new, and there was such a fun year in store. But then she realizes that graduating is exciting, too, and maybe first grade won’t be so bad, after all! The Last Day of Kindergarten is a 2012 Minnesota Book Awards finalist in the Children’s Literature category. Nancy Loewen holds an MFA in creative writing and works in educational publishing. She lives in the Twin Cities and is a resident of Scott County.


John Reimringer (Vestments)

2:00 PM

April 7, 2012

Rum River Library

Torn between his first love and the priesthood, James Dressler finds himself at a crossroads. This novel explores age-old and yet urgently contemporary issues in the Catholic Church, and is infused with a rich sense of the history and vibrant texture of Saint Paul. John Reimringer is a former newspaper editor and a graduate of the MFA program at the University of Arkansas. Vestments, his first novel, won the 2011 Minnesota Book Award in the Novel & Short Story category.

Danielle Sosin (The Long-Shining Waters)

7:00 PM

March 28, 2012

Ridgedale Library

Lake Superior holds a perennial allure, and that appeal is the basis of Danielle Sosin’s debut novel. The Long-Shining Waters follows three women in three different time periods living on the shores of Lake Superior – an Ojibwe woman in the 1620s, a Norwegian settler in the early 1900s, and a seasoned bar owner in 2000. Through the telling of these women’s stories, the mysterious powers of the greatest of the Great Lakes are illuminated, and a fourth mysterious voice is revealed. Danielle Sosin lives in Duluth, and The Long-Shining Waters is a 2012 Minnesota Book Awards finalist in the Novel & Short Story category.


Richard Thompson (Big Wheat)

7:00 PM

March 21, 2012

Stillwater Public Library

Jilted by his childhood sweetheart and estranged from his father, Charlie Krueger leaves home to seek employment in North Dakota’s booming wheat threshing industry. There, he witnesses the notorious Windmill Man serial killer committing the most recent in a string of murders, and becomes a target himself. Publishers Weekly has called Big Wheat both a “well-devised mystery” and “evocative look at the hardships of farming.” Big Wheat is a 2012 Minnesota Book Awards finalist in the Genre Fiction category. Richard A. Thomas is a trained civil engineer who now writes mysteries full time.


Lori Sturdevant and George S. Pillsbury (The Pillsburys of Minnesota)

6:00 PM

March 20, 2012

Minneapolis Central Library

“Pillsbury” is a well-known brand in many parts of the world, but the word carries deeper connotations in Minnesota. In The Pillsburys of Minnesota, Lori Sturdevant, with George S. Pillsbury, chronicles the pioneering family’s central role in making Minneapolis the milling capitol of the world. Sturdevant is an editorial writer and columnist for the Star Tribune and Pillsbury is a lifelong Twin Cities civic leader. Their book is a 2012 Minnesota Book Awards finalist in the Minnesota category.


William Kent Krueger (Northwest Angle)

7:30 PM

March 14, 2012

Brookdale Library

After a violent gale strands detective Cork O’Connor and his daughter Jenny on a remote Lake of the Woods island, they stumble upon a murder victim and a hungry and dehydrated baby boy. The findings are the first in a bizarre series that puts O’Connor’s family in the crosshairs of a group of brutal killers. Northwest Angle is a 2012 Minnesota Book Awards finalist in the Genre Fiction category and is the author’s eleventh book in the Cork O’Connor series. William Kent Krueger has previously won four Minnesota Book Awards.